DMAW Executive Committee
& Board of Directors 2015
Executive Committee
President—Jamie Natelso...
of 1

DMAW Marketing AdVents – Jamie Natelson’s “President’s Perspective” - March 2015

Check out the latest DMAW Marketing AdVents – and don’t miss Jamie Natelson’s “President’s Perspective” on page 3.
Published on: Mar 3, 2016
Published in: Marketing      

Transcripts - DMAW Marketing AdVents – Jamie Natelson’s “President’s Perspective” - March 2015

  • 1. 3 MARKETINGADVENTSMARCH2015 DMAW Executive Committee & Board of Directors 2015 Executive Committee President—Jamie Natelson Avalon Consulting Group 202-429-6080 ext. 106 jamien@avalonconsulting.net Vice President/President Elect—Cheryl Keedy Production Solutions, Inc. 703-734-5700, ckeedy@psmail.com Treasurer—Kathy Calta Barton Cotton, 410-565-5040 kathy.calta@bartoncotton.com Secretary—Alan Rich, Nova Label Co. 301-386-4433, alan@novalabel.com Immediate Past President—Peter Carter Chapman Cubine Adams + Hussey 703-248-0025, pcarter@ccah.com Board of Directors Dennis Ashcraft, Colortree Group 804-358-4245, dashcraft@colortreeva.com Samantha Brown, Schultz & Williams 215-625-9955, sbrown@schultzwilliams.com Kate Carr, Silver Marketing 301-652-3691, kcarr@silvermarketing.com Jim Chmielewski, Public Interest Communications 703-847-8300, jim@pic1.com Mike DeFlavia Lautman Maska Neill & Company 202-296-9660 ext. 211 mdeflavia@lautmandc.com Melissa Ford, Mal Warwick | Donordigital 202-332-3124, melissa@malwarwick.com Sherene Kelly, Wiland 510-332-2477, skelly@wiland.com Liz Kincheloe, Infogroup 202-973-5400, liz.kincheloe@infogroup.com Mikaela King, Defenders of Wildlife 202-682-9400, mking@defenders.org Peter Maaseide, L&E Meridian 703-913-1654, pmaaseide@l-e.com Shira Mitchell, Special Olympics 202-715-1156, smitchell@specialolympics.org Eric Rardin, Care2 703-473-2825, ericr@care2team.com Jeff Thomas, ProList 301-924-4545 ext. 1022, jthomas@prolist.com DMAW Educational Foundation Liaison— Syma Mendelsohn, 301-351-4863, symamendelsohn@verizon.net DMAW Educational Foundation Carrie Schweikart, President carrie.schweikart@qg.com DMAW Executive Director Donna Tschiffely donna@dmaw.org 703-689-DMAW, fax 703-481-DMAW PRESIDENT'S PERSPECTIVE DMAW Marketing AdVents: (ISSN 0896-4742) is published monthly by the Direct Marketing Association of Washington, Inc., 11709 Bowman Green Drive, Reston, VA 20190-3501. Periodicals postage paid at Herndon VA and at additional mailing offices. BY JAMIE NATELSON Why we do what we do, the culmina- tions of our work, our raison d’etre … Okay, the last one might be a little bit excessive, but we all want to achieve results from our hard work…whether that be in sales, donations, clicks, or actions taken. No one is more excited than I am to see returns come in from week to week, whether those re- turns are for a package, an email, or a telemar- keting campaign. If the responses are late, I am first to chase them down, to notice something is off, and often to spot a problem. Results matter, period. Daily, many articles are sent to me about pana- ceas, the next big thing, and what is new in direct marketing. Some work, some don’t, but most are just interesting concepts with little data behind them. That is why we are told not to believe everything we read, and as good direct marketers, we test, we redesign, we reconfigure, and we test again. We know to follow the data to find out what truly works, not what we think is cool. While it would be nice to find the hot new secret sauce that instantly improves results, it is not always the big ideas that we can depend on. I myself try not to chase too many shiny balloons, but tether my tests in tried-and-true best practices: assessing the risk, assessing the cost, and assessing the potential impact on campaign performance… lest my Good Year test quickly becomes the Hindenburg. So, whether you are as fulfilled by fulfillment as I am, I think as direct marketers we crave more than attention, more than what is shiny and new. We want what works. We want results. If that comes in a plain white envelope, so be it. MTFBWY! Jamie P.S. Don’t forget to check out some great upcoming DMAW events in the next few months: DM101 is on March 11; Using Mobile is the Lunch and Learn on March 19; and Advance Top- ics for Direct Marketing Fundraisers is on April 14. You might even find the secret sauce. Reach for the Peak The 10th Annual Bridge to Integrated Marketing & Fundraising Conference Gaylord National Hotel and Conference Center National Harbor, MD July 7-9, 2015 Postmaster: Send address changes to DMAW Marketing AdVents, 11709 Bowman Green Drive, Reston, VA 20190-3501; email info@dmaw.org • website www.dmaw.org

Related Documents